Respighi, Berlioz & Sibelius with conductor Bruce Hangen

    Presented by at Cary Hall

    November 5 - November 2, 2011


    Respighi, Berlioz & Sibelius with conductor Bruce Hangen

    Full Price: $32.00
    BosTix Price: $17.00+Fee

    On November 5, Boston Conservatory’s Bruce Hangen leads the Lexington Symphony in a performance of Sibelius’ first symphony, Respighi's The Birds, and Berlioz's Les Nuits d'Été (Summer Nights) featuring counter-tenor Matthew Truss. First performed in 1899 by the young Jean Sibelius, his first symphony was influenced by Tchaikovsky and Borodin, but was clearly the work of a young composer who had already developed a distinct musical voice. Les Nuits d’Été (Summer Nights) is a setting of six French love poems by Hector Berlioz and will feature Matthew Truss, whose voice the Boston Globe has described as “boasting both beauty and volume.” Respighi’s The Birds is based on music from 18th-century and represents a vibrant attempt to transcribe birdsong into musical notation.

    Cary Hall

    1605 Massachusetts Ave.
    Lexington, MA 02420

    Full map and directions

    BosTix Tickets:
    DELIVERY: Your tickets will be available for pickup at the venue box office approximately one hour prior to showtime.

    SEATING: Reserved Seating in the Orchestra or Balcony

    General Day and Time Info:


    Buy Now

    Accessibility Information:

    Facebook Comments



                    Bank of America


      © 2014 - ArtsBoston - All Rights Reserved.

      Contact Us | Privacy Policy/Terms of Service | Site Feedback