Variations & Transcriptions

    Presented by at MIT's Kresge Auditorium

    December 11, 2010


    Variations & Transcriptions

    Full Price: $35
    BosTix Price: $17.50+fee

    Beethoven Variations for Cello and Piano on "See the conqu'ring hero comes" from Handel's Judas
    Maccabaeus, WoO 45
    Brahms Clarinet Trio in A minor, Op. 114
    Bach Trio Sonata from The Musical Offering, BWV 1079
    Schoenberg Chamber Symphony in E major, Op. 9, arr. by A. Webern Flute, Clarinet, Violin, Cello and Piano

    Lorna McGhee, flute Alexander Fiterstein, clarinet
    Harumi Rhodes, violin Peter Stumpf, cello Randall Hodgkinson, piano

    Beethoven, the master of theme and variations, takes this theme from Handel’s oratorio Judas Maccabaeus. The long lines of development across variations and dialog between the cello and piano bring a dramatic flare befitting the story from which the theme comes. A favorite of Brahms’ himself, the Clarinet Trio exploits the lyrical and technical possibilities of the clarinet through the timbre of the minor modes. Based on a single theme composed by Frederick the Great, a flutist, Bach’s four-movement Trio Sonata, written for flute, violin, and basso continuo demonstrates Bach’s unsurpassed contrapuntal skill. Schoenberg’s Chamber Symphony is a neo-classical approach in musical conception. Schoenberg employed the different colors to link the strands of his intricate contrapuntal lines. To make performances of this work more practical, Webern’s made an arrangement for a smaller body of instruments.

    MIT's Kresge Auditorium

    48 Massachusetts Ave
    Cambridge, MA 02139

    Full map and directions

    General Day and Time Info:


    Buy Now

    Accessibility Information:

    Facebook Comments



                    Bank of America


      © 2014 - ArtsBoston - All Rights Reserved.

      Contact Us | Privacy Policy/Terms of Service | Site Feedback